Aside

After the birth of my two children I have really found losing weight to be a difficult task. Granted, I am not in my twenties any more and quite honestly I didn’t spend my twenties being that health concious or fit. I have done the working out thing, which was great and I give it lots of credit. Problem is, I barely have time to have a shower,  working out is not at the top of my list. Its on the to do list, but it gets skipped over regularly.

My mother via my brother brought forward a diet that intrigued me. Major disclaimer: I am not a diet person, I don’t like restrictions and I don’t like being told what I can and can`t have. For some reason though I decided to give this diet a try and I must say I was amazed at the results!

I lost 16lbs in under a month! A lot of that was water weight but seeing the scale move that quickly doesn’t usally happen unless I am stepping off the scale.

The diet I tried was ketosis, basically limiting the amount of carbohydrates and sugar in my diet.

I love carbohydrates and I will be the first to admit that I had a sugar addiction, but some how I found it really easy to do. I drank lots and lots and lots of water. I mean a lot of water! I ate a lot of eggs and cheese and I found that my hunger lessened and my energy increased. It was really weird.

Then, well then I moved. I didn’t have the food I needed at my finger tips, I was in a high stress environment and the good weather started. I wanted french fries and beer on a patio. Buttery popcorn and ice cream.

What has amazed me was after going without I have realized how bad the food I love made me feel. I felt bloated and tired after a heavy carbohydrate meal and I found sweets to sugary. I never ever thought I would think this way.

Being introduced to ketosis has changed my way of thinking about food. It has changed the way I look at planning meals.

I am currently trying to get back into the swing of things and trying to be strict on the ketosis diet. It is easy but difficult. Your body tells you it wants carbs and sugars, it tells you it is hungry. You eat and realize it is lying to you, you are not hungry, just thirsty. The beginning feels like a constant fight and then it all goes away and you start losing weight and feeling great. I hope I can struggle through and succeed.

After the birth…

Leave a Reply

