Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

So I had a couple of these hanging around. I used to throw them in the freezer until I decided to do something with them. I ended up with an insane amount of frozen bananas in my freezer. Now I make banana bread with them as soon as they go brown.  I throw some chocolate chips in there and try to convince myself that it is healthy treat. Everyone in my family loves it and it doesnt stick around for too long.

My recipe comes from this amazing basic cookbook. It is my cooking bible. Whenever I question what I am doing I consult it.

It was a gift from my dad 10 years ago. His inscription means more to me now and I think of him every time I use it.

Here is the list of ingredients:

1 3/4 cup Flour

2 1/4 teaspoons double acting baking powder

1/2 teaspoons salt

1/3 cup butter

2/3 cup sugar

3/4 teaspoons lemon zest

2 beaten eggs

ripe bananas2-3

2/3 cups chocolate chips

Sift the dry ingredients together.

Cream the butter, sugar and lemon zest.

Mash up the banana’s and beat in the eggs add this mixture to the butter.

Add the flour mixture to the butter mixture in 3 parts. Stirring to incorporate after each addition.

Add the chocolate chips and mix.

Usually I pour this mixture into a greased loaf pan and cook for an hour or until golden brown and cooked all the way through.

Today I decided to put it into mini and big muffin tins

Serve when cool enough to put in your mouth!

One thought on “Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

  1. Mmm. I really should do something with the mountain of bananas I have in my freezer. Bet Ny would love banana bread. I love that you have that cookbook from your Dad. Lovely inscription and a nice memory to treasure. Pass it on to your kids one day.

Leave a comment