Sunday Dinner

For as long as I can remember Sunday dinner in my childhood home was some kind of roast, with roast potatoes and a veggie. In the winter time my dad would break out the Yorkshire pudding tin and we would get an extra treat. There was a time in my life where I was not to impressed with this as we had it week in and week out. My dad was a man of habit, pick a day of the week and I could probably tell you what we had for dinner that day. We ate well but I got bored of the same old. Today there is nothing I like better then a good roast beef, roast potatoes and Yorkshire puddings.

When my dad was diagnosed with cancer I realized I had to learn how he did it. I had always watched but I had never asked what actually went into it.  Now that he has passed away I have taken it upon myself to carry on the making of the roast and Yorkshire’s and I think I have gotten pretty good at it.

The biggest trick with the Yorkshire that I have learned is that you have to start your batter early, not an hour early not even two hours earlier, I mean you clean up from breakfast and you start your batter. You might think this is crazy but it works!

My batter is 4 eggs, 1 cup of milk, 1 cup of flour and a dash of salt. I mix the eggs and the milk together and put aside for 30 minutes. Add the cup of flour and mix until smooth. Cover with cling wrap and leave it on the counter. Whenever you pass the bowl, give it a whisk.  This gives the batter a nice airy quality when you bake it.

For the roast I roughly chopped onion, celery and carrots. Throw them in a pan with unpeeled garlic and some rosemary. Salt and pepper my roast and pour extra virgin olive oil over the whole thing, making sure to rub the roast a bit with it.  I put this lovely mixture into a preheated oven of 475F and quickly turn the temperature down to 400F to roast for about an hour. When your roast has cooked to your desired doneness make sure you take it out of the pan and let it rest  for at least 10 minutes. Use the veggies at the bottom of the pan to make the most amazing gravy you have ever had.

This is when I get on with my potatoes and vegetables. I will post my recipe for the best roast potatoes ever another time. I mean it, they are the best roast potatoes that you will ever have and they are based off a Jamie Oliver recipe. I am drooling right now thinking about them!

Anyway onto the Yorkshire’s! When you take your roast out to rest knock your oven back up to 475F. With a muffin tin put a little bit of oil in each cup. Enough oil that it covers the bottom of the cup. Stick the tray into the oven and let the oil heat up till it smokes, about 5 minutes. When the oil is really hot pour your batter into the each cup and then close the door to the oven. DO NOT DISTURB FOR AT LEAST 15 MINUTES. This is the time that they rise and if you open the door any sooner they will deflate.  After 15 minutes turn the oven down to 300F and let them cook until golden brown or how you like them to look.

These were a bit underdone to my liking, but they were still really good!

Yum Yum!

Serve without gravy

 or with!

I think I could be happy if this was my last meal!

Leave a Reply

