What Would You Do?

What would you do if you found a fully engorged tick in your 10 month old’s head?

I freaked out! Called the doctor and insisted they see us immediatly. I marched my kids as quickly as I could to the doctors office to have that little bugger removed from her head.

I didn’t pick up my camera, so there are no photo’s.

The nurses all crowded around because they had never seen a tick in a babies head before. Made me feel great!

The doctor was surprised to know it was in Roslyn’s head and not Isabelle’s. I felt like a model parent. He told me it must have been there for at least 48 hours. I’m the winner of ‘Parent of the Year.’ He gave me a prescription and sent me on my way.

As soon as the prescription was filled I gave Roslyn the antibiotics. Yes I stood in the drug store parking lot in the middle of the rain, trying to figure out how to get Roslyn to drink 5 ml of fluid she had never had before. It was a success even if I felt a bit manic and crazy.

Now we are home, I am full of the itches and I will be going through Isabelle’s scalp later.

I have also bought lots of wool to knit Roslyn a toque that fits.

One thought on “What Would You Do?

  1. happened to me too! I went to emergency, I never felt it was anything to do with my parenting, don’t be so hard on yourself.

Leave a Reply

